Mies van der Rohe Award 2013 - Five finalist announced

The European Commission and the Fundació Mies van der Rohe have announced the five finalists who will compete for the 2013 European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award. In total, 335 works in 37 European countries were nominated for the award. An expert jury drew up the final shortlist (details below). The overall winner of the Prize, as well as the ’special mention’ award for best emerging architect, will be announced in May, with an award ceremony on 6 June at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona, Spain. The five finalists are: - City Hall, Ghent, Belgium / Robbrecht en Daem architecten; Marie-José Van Hee architecten | - Superkilen, Copenhagen, Denmark / BIG Bjarke Ingels Group; Topotek1; Superflex | - Harpa - Reykjavik Concert Hall & Conference Centre, Reykjavik, Iceland / Batteríid architects; Henning Larsen Architects; Studio Olafur Eliasson | - House for Elderly People, Alcácer do Sal, Portugal / Aires Mateus Arquitectos | - Metropol Parasol, Seville, Spain / J. Mayer H. | Info: www.miesarch.com